NJLLA traces its origins to 1980 when a small number of Newark and Trenton law librarians started the New Jersey Law Librarians Group. This led to the formal organization of the New Jersey Law Librarians Association. The transition was voted in at a meeting held September 17, 1986, in Roseland, New Jersey. NJLLA was recognized as the twenty-seventh chapter of the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)  on July 6, 1987, at AALL’s 80th annual meeting in Chicago, Illinois.


The main focus of NJLLA is to provide an opportunity for networking, exchange of ideas and information, continuing education and professional interaction among colleagues.These objectives are encouraged through regular program meetings, workshops and brown bag lunches held at various locations throughout the state.


NJLLA committees are: Archives, Bylaws, Community Service, Government Affairs and Legal Information (GALIC), Grants & Awards, Guidelines, Membership, Nominating, Outreach Education, Policy & Procedures Manual, Program, Public Relations and Technology.


The Executive Board is comprised of the President, Vice President/President Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past President and two Members-At-Large. Terms of office are: one year for Secretary and Members-At-Large, two years for Treasurer, and three inclusive years for Vice President/President Elect to Immediate Past President. The annual meeting and election of officers takes place in May.


  • Joanne Murphy, 2016-2017
  • Dianne Oster, 2015-2016
  • Carrie Hayter, 2014-2015
  • Caroline Young, 2013-2014
  • Kathy Taggart, 2012-2013
  • Gayle Lynn-Nelson, 2011-2012
  • Kathleen McCarthy, 2010-2011
  • Marlene Gebauer, 2009-2010
  • Janice Schouten, 2008-2009
  • Renee Cullman, 2007-2008
  • Lucy Rieger, 2006-2007
  • Susan Lyons, 2005-2006
  • Beth Petruska, 2004-2005
  • Stephanie Fox, 2003-2004
  • Emma Williams, 2002-2003
  • Daniel Campbell, 2001-2002
  • Johanna C. Bizub, 2000-2001
  • Sandra Willis, 1999-2000
  • Rosaria Vigorito, 1998-1999
  • Gayle Lynn-Nelson, 1997-1998
  • Karen Wojan, 1996-1997
  • Leigh DeProspo, 1995-1996
  • Karen P. Schuh, 1994-1995
  • Brenda B. Adams, 1993-1994
  • Susan E. Skyzinski, 1992-1993
  • Julie von Schrader, 1991-1992
  • Johanna C. Bizub, 1990-1991
  • Ermina Hahn, 1989-1990
  • Scott L. Fisher, 1988-1989
  • Karen B. Brunner, 1987-1988