AALL’s Continuing Education Grants Program

The American Association of Law Libraries’ Continuing Education Grants Program (CEGP) is designed to encourage program development and sharing of programs and continuing education opportunities among AALL entities. The AALL grants program makes funding available to chapters, SIS’s, member institutions, and individual AALL members to assist in providing ongoing quality continuing education programming outside of the annual meeting. 

Applications for Continuing Education Grants will be accepted for any amount and for the following purposes (including but not limited to):

– Start up funds for an innovative format such as a webinar or podcast (Equipment grants will be considered on a case by case basis, and when given, the receiver maybe asked to use the equipment again for rebroadcast of future programs.)

– Funding a partnership program between an SIS, Chapter, or Caucus

– Supplement to program planner’s budget for an already planned program for 2006-07

– Program content development  

Please note that your proposal should describe a genuine need for the program, and the program should be recorded and distributed to a wider audience. The program may be available as a live broadcast or distribution of the program may be scheduled to take place after the live program so that attendance at the local program will not be affected. Distribution of the program may be limited to a certain time period to encourage speaker approval.  

An online form for requests for educational programming funds is available at: http://www.aallnet.org/prodev/grant_program.asp Guidelines for program proposals and program evaluation criteria will be included. The deadline for receipt for the second round of proposal requests is Friday, November 27th, 2006. This is the second of four rounds during 2006-2007 to request funds for continuing education programming. The deadlines for the third and fourth rounds of proposals will be announced later this year.

For further information about the application process, please contact me or any other members of the Continuing Professional Education Committee:

Thank you,  

Carole L. Hinchcliff
Chair, Continuing Professional Education Special Committee

Celeste Smith
AALL Education Manager


Karen Brunner

Tim Coggins

Amy Hale-Janeke

Pam Rino

Rosalie Sanderson

Susan Siebers

Gretchen Van Dam

Stephen Weiter


Leave a Reply